Joint Transportation Committee


Workgroup on Distribution of Federal Funds from the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA)

​​​​​​The 2022 supplemental transportation budget (ESSB 5689, Sec 204 (12)) directs the Joint Transportation Committee to convene a work group to develop recommendations to the committee on the distribution of federal-aid highway formula program funding from the I​nfrastructure Investment and Jobs Act to state and local government in future biennia. In addition to the executive committee of the JTC the work group shall include the Governor's staff​ from the Office of Financial Management as well as one representative of each of the following:

  • the Washington State Association of Counties;​
  • Metropolitan Planning Organizations;
  • Regional Transportation Planning Organizations:
  • the Association of Washington Cities;
  • Tribes;
  • the Washington State Department of Transportation;
  • the Washington Public Ports Association; and
  • the Washington State Transit Association.
WSDOT staff are to provide technical overviews, information and updates on federal requirements and guidance. 

Schedule of meetings (subject to change):
June 8, 2022  (9:00 am-12:15 pm)
via videoconference and streamed on TVW​ (click for link)​   
IIJA Overview​     

July 8, 2022  (9:30 am-12:00 pm)  
SeaTac Airport Conference Center    

July 15, 2022  (12:30 pm- 2:30 pm)
Seatac Airport Conference Center 

​​Roster of members:

​​​​Member Organization
​Representative Jake Fey​
House Transportation Committee
Representative Andrew BarkisHouse Transportation Committee
​Senator Marko LiiasSenate Transportation Committee
Senator Curtis King
Senate Transportation Committee
Councilmember Ryan Mello, Pierce CountyWashington State Association of Counties
​Mayor Cassie Franklin, EverettMetropolitan Planning Organizations
Mayor Kevin Freeman, MillwoodRegional Transportation Planning Organizations
​Mayor Rob Putaansuu, Port OrchardAssociation of Washington Cities
Chairman Leonard Forsman, Suquamish Tribe​
Secretary Roger MillarWashington State Department of Transportation
Debbie Driver, Senior Policy AdvisorOffice of the Governor
Erik Hansen, Senior Budget AssistantOffice of Financial Management
Commissioner Michael Fredrickson, Port of Walla Walla​
Washington Public Ports Association
​Justin Leighton, Executive DirectorWashington State Transit Association

2022 Budget Proviso    
2016 Memo - Fast Act Advisory Committee​     

IIJA Transportation Program Summaries:  
Bridge Formula    ​
Carbon Reduction (CRP)   

National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI)
National Highway Freight Program (NHFP)
National Highway Performance Program (NHPP)
Promoting Resilient Operations for Transformative, Efficient, and Cost-Saving Transportation Program (PROTECT)
Statewide and Nonmetropolitan Planning (SPR)
Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG)
Transportation Alternatives (TA)-STBG set-aside​     

Public Comment

​Please submit via email to​​